Poet & Writing Community Poet Community
About Publish FAQ's Bookstore Free Poetry Contest
MoonTownCafe Home for Poets


  Search

Advanced Search
MoonTownCafe Home My Cafe Write Poems, Stories, and more Publish your Poems, Stories and Book My Friends on this Site Log-in
  Poetry & Writing ForumsFree Poetry ContestJournal

Read Reviews



A Colossal Fool (revised)
By MikeC16958 on 04/21/2006
Viewed: 519
Reviews: 10
Rating:

yes! 


Written by duchess  (4/21/2006 9:50:05 PM)

I could convince you
of this one thing:

that at that time
out of the corner of my eye, I saw
Cristo Redentor
and the gang from Mount Rushmore,
along with Paul Bunyan and Babe

flinging

the Taj Mahal
into the Bering Straits
to string them together
with high-speed cable
and using the Eiffel Tower
as an oar

Oh this is good 


Written by mjreynolds  (4/21/2006 11:04:23 PM)

this is really good, really really good...

Ohhhh, 

No Rating
Written by Maria  (4/23/2006 10:34:17 AM)

but you are no fool, Mike! (not with writing like this)

Good write 

No Rating
Written by poe43  (4/23/2006 12:46:10 PM)

Excellent job, great look at deception and peoples need to be loyal, no matter what.

Mike 

No Rating
Written by Uni  (4/24/2006 1:14:49 AM)

You did it again!!! Love to read your works. ~Uni~

I revised this 

No Rating
Written by MikeC16958  (4/27/2006 11:34:48 PM)

because it occurs to me it was a "tsunami" in 2004 and not a typhoon.

Excellent 


Written by Scout  (4/28/2006 6:27:40 PM)

write Mike


Scout

I like it 

No Rating
Written by julesbristol  (5/1/2006 12:31:25 PM)

...and it's neat and different, but suffers a bit too much for mixed metaphors and images. It packs, or tries to pack, too much in. If you were going to revise it further I would try for an even simpler version.

Scout. . . . . 

No Rating
Written by MikeC16958  (5/7/2006 11:47:07 PM)

it's a blessing to have friends here, an honor to get their approval on something I write, a privilege to read other's work here, too, but when you get a nod from someone who's writing you are really in awe of, that you don't know really well, but they break the ice like you have by complimenting your work: BONUS! :-) Thank you! Peace! :-) Keep writing!

jules. . . . . . 

No Rating
Written by MikeC16958  (5/7/2006 11:51:28 PM)

I wanted this poem to be "COLOSSAL," therefore I put all those references in there, just like I did. There was an article I saw once in Time magazine in my pediatrician's waiting room when I was a wee lad of the Underdog balloon from the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade, still fully inflated but caught in some trees; the balloon got away from it's handlers obviously and someone was there to capture that moment and now every time I see a DisneyWorld commercial with cloud formations of Disney characters or Mickey standing on top of the Epcot Center, it reminds me of these "colossal fears" that sometimes exist in the world. i.e. fear of misjudging character, fear of large things, heigths, etc. Just sharing a personal neuroses of mine. But that was kind of my intention in this poem as well. Peace and all good things to you. Thanks for reading and posting a comment. :-)


Read User Reviews
Write Review
Report Poem

Add To Friend

Send To Friend
The Best Online Poem and Writing Community for all
 Members
   Username
Forgot Username?

Password
Forgot Password?
Not a member?
Sign up for free!

Premium Membership

  Newsletter

  Enter your email:
  Site Stats     Online members:0      Online guests:36      Total Users:23882      Total Poems:62964
© 2000-2016 MoonTownCafe.com. All rights reserved. LinksLink to UsPoet LinksContactPrivacy