Poet & Writing Community Poet Community
About Publish FAQ's Bookstore Free Poetry Contest
MoonTownCafe Home for Poets


  Search

Advanced Search
MoonTownCafe Home My Cafe Write Poems, Stories, and more Publish your Poems, Stories and Book My Friends on this Site Log-in
  Poetry & Writing ForumsFree Poetry ContestJournal

Read Reviews



one iceberg at a time
By Jon von Nottingham on 06/08/2006
Viewed: 10501
Reviews: 33
Rating:

:) 

No Rating
Written by Pilgrimage  (6/8/2006 2:09:42 PM)

I think you must be the title-master. This one grabbed me. Good all through, except I'm not sure about 'staid'. It's so like 'stodgy'.

Nan

there you are 


Written by duchess  (6/8/2006 2:51:48 PM)

making me emote again. this is really beautiful. the kind of poem that after someone writes it about you, you are in someways changed forever.

excellence, intense, ... remember your westcoast bosom
buddy. ; )

x
d~

beautiful 

No Rating
Written by dfresh  (6/8/2006 3:58:20 PM)

This is really well written, and the title is great since...well, it pulled me in but actually fit the piece.

one nit: in the fifth stanza it should be YOUR hip, not you hip. Or you're hip. :)

Hah! 


Written by Tawmn  (6/8/2006 4:59:18 PM)

I love the title of this one!

I love your stuff Jon!

There's a reason 


Written by Leek  (6/8/2006 5:21:58 PM)

that I came back to MTC after so long. It's poetry like this.

yessir 

No Rating
Written by Erin_Monahan  (6/8/2006 8:05:28 PM)

looks like that place no one else see's is doing pretty damn well. Beautiful piece, gorgeous imagery. Love you Jman, lots.

ML~
~E

so beautiful 


Written by westcoastmama  (6/8/2006 9:40:28 PM)

I am completely overcome by this...filled to over flowing. Thank you for sharing this with us.

*note to Jen*...*hug*...you have the best eyes ;-)

 


Written by Moondust  (6/18/2006 5:50:00 PM)

I quite like your constant use of seascape references throughout, it ties the thoughts together nicely. The sonstant change of rhythm by varying the stanza length gives a sea-motion feeling as well, all making it so above-average.
This reads so easily, and belies the thought that has gone into each strophe.

Excellent poem.

MD

a beautiful poem 


Written by protestpoet  (7/13/2006 1:26:05 AM)

you brought in the punchline perfectly at the end.

A beauty~ 


Written by InkOnSkin  (5/5/2009 4:14:13 AM)

I have to say, the poem is absolute. The words derived were far from plain and yet you managed to arrange them without looking like a poet trying too hard. I feel the title may be misleading at first but I'm sure its an analogy to waiting meaning patience? Excellente!

Well deserved 5 STAR!


       More Pages:   1  2  3  4     Next >>  

Read User Reviews
Write Review
Report Poem

Add To Friend

Send To Friend
The Best Online Poem and Writing Community for all
 Members
   Username
Forgot Username?

Password
Forgot Password?
Not a member?
Sign up for free!

Premium Membership

  Newsletter

  Enter your email:
  Site Stats     Online members:0      Online guests:44      Total Users:23882      Total Poems:62964
© 2000-2016 MoonTownCafe.com. All rights reserved. LinksLink to UsPoet LinksContactPrivacy